RC Nights 2013 Round 6 Report

This Report comes to us from Eddie A.

Modesto, CA (Aug 5th)– Round 6 of RC Nights 2013 continued on a nice cool Saturday evening at Modesto RC Raceway. A new rhythm section was added to the track which saw 68 entries in seven divisions.

Derek Stephansen took the win in the Stock 2WD buggy division. Stephansen set TQ earlier in the qualifying heats. Two time winner Ron Bickel finished second followed by Derrick Trinidad, Team Jones, and Doug Frid. Rounding out the top ten were Ray Gong, D.J. Arellano, Rod Salmon, Frank Lagomarsino, and Brent Riddles.

Derek Stephansen remained undefeated on the night as he also won the 4WD Buggy A main. Derrick Trinidad wound finish second, Frank Lagomarsino third, Ray Gong fourth, and Cary Wright fifth. Just missing the top five were Kirk Baker, Doug Frid, and Will Perry.

Doug Frid scored his third win of the season in the Stock 2WD Short Course division. Anthony Varner finished second earning his best finish of the year with Rod Salmon third, John Harrison fourth, and Eddie Alves fifth. Randy Syester held off Kirk Baker, B Main Winner Brandon Lopez, Aaron Castro, and Roy Birchler.

In the Open 2WD Short Course Division Anthony Varner set TQ and cruised to his second victory of the year with Eddie Alves second, Udo Richter third, Ken Farmer fourth, Will Perry fifth and Roy Birchler sixth.

Frank Lagomarsino won the 4×4 Short Course Division after top qualifier Derrick Trinidad broke while leading early on. Kirk Baker would finish second, John Harrison third, Ray Gong fourth, and Bling Bling fifth. Anthony Varner would end up sixth, Eric Todd seventh, followed by Dan Lowry, Robert Merrill, Ken Farmer, and Trinidad.

The Novice division saw Ethan Lewis earn his first win of the season. Finishing second was A.J. Varner, Gary Holderbein third, Tyler Castro fourth, and Lucas Trinidad fifth. Elliott Lewis crossed the line sixth, Ed Alves seventh, and Daniel Kneer eight.

Bling Bling set TQ and won his fourth straight race in the All Out division. Billy Martin finished second, Jeremy Rackley third, Donnie Boger fourth, and Robert Sandate fifth. Mr. Broken finished sixth, with J.R. McClain seventh and Robert Merrill eight.

A special thanks to Will Perry, John Harrison and others for their hard work Friday night prepping the track and thanks to Aaron Castro and Pickle for continuing there hard work on the tracks new shed. Thanks to Blake Bryan for doing a outstanding job announcing round six.

Round 7 of RC Nights 2013 will resume on Saturday, August 10th at Modesto RC Raceway located at 4307 Coffee Road in Modesto. Gates open at 3:30 PM with racing set to start at 5:30 PM. For more information, complete race results and point standings, pictures, and videos log on to Modesto RC’s website at modestorc.com or “like” their Facebook page at facebook.com/ModestoRC

Modesto RC would like to thank their sponsors which include:
Avid Rc – http://www.avidrc.com/
Team Associated – http://www.teamassociated.com/
Team Tekin – http://www.teamtekin.com/
Proline – http://prolineracing.com/
AKA – http://www.raceaka.com/
Boca Bearings – http://www.bocabearings.com/
D.E. Racing – http://www.deracing.net/
Team Novak – http://www.teamnovak.com/
Savox – http://www.savoxusa.com/

Funworks Modesto
4307 Coffee Road
Modesto, CA 95355
(209) 549-7888

•   RC Nights Round 1: June 01, 2013
•   RC Nights Round 2: June 15, 2013
•   RC Nights Round 3: June 29, 2013
•   RC Nights Round 4: July 06, 2013
•   RC Nights Round 5: July 20, 2013
•   RC Nights Round 6: August 03, 2013
•   RC Nights Round 7: August 10, 2013
•   RC Nights Final(double points): August 24, 2013
Gates open at 3:30
Racing Starts at 5:30

Round set up :
•   3 Throw outs
•   Final Round Double Points

Entry Fees :
•   First Class – $15
•   Second class – $10
•   Third Class + – $5



Posted by at August 5, 2013
Filed in category: Race Report,

Comments are closed.