RC Nights Round 5 Report

This Recap comes to us from Eddie A.

Modesto, CA (July 23)– Round 5 of RC Nights 2013 resumed Saturday Night at Modesto RC Raceway. This week 77 entries were spread out over eight divisions. Prior to the start of the A Main’s the track held a drawing consisting of two $50 gift certificates from Boca Bearings along with tools and other Boca products and Modesto RC Raceway T-Shirts.

The very popular Stock 2wd Buggy class led the way with 17 total entries. Derrick Trinidad scored his first victory in just his second start of RC Nights 2013. Early race leader and top qualifier Derek Stephansen finished ninth after a parts failure just six laps into the six minute main. Randy Lathrop finished second followed by Bill Rainier, Ron Bickel, and B Main winner Doug Frid. Rob Moots finished sixth, Ray Gong seventh, Rod Salmon eight, Stephansen ninth, and Team Jones tenth.

The Stock 2wd Short Course Truck division saw 16 entries for the evening. Doug Frid won his third race of the season after setting TQ earlier in the evening. Rod Salmon finished second, Eddie Alves third, John Harrison fourth, and Anthony Varner fifth. Frid and Salmon completed 16 laps with positions 3rd to 9th completing 15 in a very close competitive race. Randy Sysester finished sixth, followed by Kirk Baker, Casey Nydahl, and B Main transfers Larry Slowpez and Bling Bling rounding out the top ten.

The 4wd buggy division had eight entries with Derek Stephansen taking home the victory after setting TQ. Doug Frid finished second followed by Ray Gong, Kirk Baker, Anthony Varner, early race leader Derrick Trinidad who suffered mechanical failure, Will Perry, and Dan Lowry. Stephansen turned 18 laps in just over six minutes and two seconds.

The 4wd Short Course division also had eight entries. Top Qualifier Derrick Trinidad won his fourth race in four starts this year. Trinidad finished two laps ahead of second place Ray Gong followed by Bling Bling, John Harrison, Robert Merrill, Tony Scripilliti, Kirk Baker, and Dan Lowry. Trinidad was also the only racer to get down to the 18 second bracket in the main.

The very exciting Novice division which consisted of a mixture of 2wd short course, 4wd short course and buggies had 11 entries on the night. Top qualifier went to Francisco Garcia who would go on to earn last place points as he was unable to start the A Main. Josh Moots made his debut scoring his first win. Ethan Lewis finished second, Trey Jones third, Tosh Kajioka fourth, and A.J. Varner fifth. Rounding out the top ten were Enzo Scripilliti, Lucas Trinidad, Ed Alves, Gary Holderbein, and Tyler Castro.

The Open 2wd Short Course division had seven entries for the night. Top qualifier Will Perry started on the pole for the six minute main. Eddie Alves took the lead early and never looked back scoring his third straight win in a row. Anthony Varner would go on to finish second followed by Perry, Larry Slowpez, Nate Holderbein, Roy Birchler, and Vinnie Debarros.

The All Out division saw Bling Bling score his third straight win in a row. Bling Bling also set TQ earlier in the night. In a very exciting finish Robert Merrill finished just 1.169 seconds behind Bling Bling. Tosh Kajioka third, J.R. McClain fourth, Mr. Broken fifth and Tony Perez sixth.

Doug Frid continued his dominance in the Open Stadium truck division setting TQ and earning his fourth straight victory. Aaron Castro was second and Evan Craig third.

Friday night club racing will continue Friday, July 26th. Gates will open at 5:30 PM and racing will start at 7PM.

Round 6 of RC Nights 2013 will resume on Saturday, August 3rd at Modesto RC Raceway located at 4307 Coffee Road in Modesto. Gates open at 3:30 PM with racing set to start at 5:30 PM. For more information, complete race results and point standings, pictures, and videos log on to Modesto RC’s website at modestorc.com or “like” their Facebook page at facebook.com/ModestoRC

Modesto RC would like to thank their sponsors which include:
Avid Rc – http://www.avidrc.com/
Team Associated – http://www.teamassociated.com/
Team Tekin – http://www.teamtekin.com/
Proline – http://prolineracing.com/
AKA – http://www.raceaka.com/
Boca Bearings – http://www.bocabearings.com/
D.E. Racing – http://www.deracing.net/
Team Novak – http://www.teamnovak.com/
Savox – http://www.savoxusa.com/

Funworks Modesto
4307 Coffee Road
Modesto, CA 95355
(209) 549-7888

•   RC Nights Round 1: June 01, 2013
•   RC Nights Round 2: June 15, 2013
•   RC Nights Round 3: June 29, 2013
•   RC Nights Round 4: July 06, 2013
•   RC Nights Round 5: July 20, 2013
•   RC Nights Round 6: August 03, 2013
•   RC Nights Round 7: August 10, 2013
•   RC Nights Final(double points): August 24, 2013
Gates open at 3:30
Racing Starts at 5:30

Round set up :
•   3 Throw outs
•   Final Round Double Points

Entry Fees :
•   First Class – $15
•   Second class – $10
•   Third Class + – $5



Posted by at July 23, 2013
Filed in category: Race Report,

Comments are closed.