RC Nights 2013 final round recap

This race recap comes to us from Eddie A.

Thanks Eddie for your hard work!

Modesto, CA (Sept 7th)– The final round of RC Night 2013 was held at Modesto RC Saturday, August 24th, 2013. The double points night event saw a record high 96 entries. The top five drivers in the overall point standings received plaques for their accomplishments. Prior to the start of the A Main’s a large raffle was held with the series sponsors providing excellent prizes including tools, t-shirts, wheels, gift certificates, and a RC Helicopter just to name a few.

The Stock 2WD buggy division saw a season high 23 entries. Derek Stephansen took TQ honors earning him the pole position for the six minute main. Stephansen would go on to win the A main finishing ahead of Branden Mund, Bill Rainier, Randy Lathrop, and Stlnlst rounding out the top five. Ray Gong finished sixth, Dog Frid seventh, Greg Stephansen eight, Ron Bickel ninth, and D.J. Arellano tenth. The 2013 Championship went to Ron Bickel. Bickel finished the season with two wins and TQ’ed on two different occasions. Doug Frid finished second in points just 6 points behind Bickel. Ray Gong wound up finishing third, Rod Salmon fourth, and Chris “Team” Jones rounding out the top five.

In Stock 2WD Short Course Truck 19 different drivers were on hand for round 8. Doug Frid continued his dominance in the division by setting TQ and also scoring his fourth win of the season. Team Jones would finish second in the A Main with John Harrison, Rod Salmon and Udo Richter rounding out the top five. Finishing sixth was Tim Farmer with Eddie Alves, Casey Nydahl, Anthony Varner, and Aaron Castro rounding out the top ten. The Series Championship went to Doug Frid who finished every race in the top five and was top qualifier in 7 of the 8 races. Rod Salmon finished second in the final point standings with John Harrison finishing third. Salmon finished with two wins and Harrison one win. Eddie Alves and Anthony Varner rounded out the top five in the championship standings.

The 4X4 Short Course Division had 15 entries on the night. Frank Lagomarsino bested the other 14 racers to set TQ. Lagomarsino would cruise to a 8 second win over second place finisher Eric Todd. John Harrison would go on to finish third, Ray Gong fourth, and Anthony Varner fifth. Just missing the top five were Kirk Baker, Bling Bling, Cary Wright, Billy Martin, and Mr. Broken. Lagomarsino would take the series championship as he earned his second win of the series in round 8. Finishing second in the final point standings was John Harrison followed by Ray Gong, Bling Bling, and Eric Todd. Kirk Baker held on to sixth place with 5 time winner Derrick Trinidad who was absent for round 8 finishing seventh overall followed by Robert Merrill, Dan Lowery, and Anthony Varner finishing tenth.

The Open 2WD Short Course division saw a season high 12 drivers for the night. Derek Stephansen made his first start in the division and took TQ honors. Stephansen would later go on to with the A Main ahead of Branden Mund, Greg Stephansen, Eddie Alves, and Nate Holderbein fifth. Roy Birchler would finish sixth ahead of Udo Richter, Larry Slowpez, Vinnie Debarros, and Anthony Varner rounding out the top ten. The Series Championship went to Eddie Alves who finished the year with four victories. Nate Holderbein snuck into second place in the final standings with two time winner Anthony Varner finishing third, Udo Richter fourth, and Roy Birchler rounding out the top five.

Trey Jones would earn his third win of the year in the Novice division. Top Qualifier Ethan Lewis would finish second, Tyler Castro third, Cody Hart fourth, and A.J. Varner fifth. Rounding out the top ten were Gary Holderbein, John Eldridge, Ed Alves, and Danny Martin. Jones also earned the Novice Championship finishing just six points ahead of Ethan Lewis. Lewis finished with two wins to his credit. Rounding out the top five in the final point standings were Tyler Castro, Gary Holderbein, and A.J. Varner.

Bling Bling would set TQ in the All Out division but it was Robert Merrill who would go on to win his first A Main victory of the season. Bling Bling held on to finish second with Donnie Boger third, Mr. Broken fourth, and J.R. McClain fifth. Bling Bling would take the championship as his five wins bested any other driver. Robert Merrill would finish second, Donnie Boger third, Travis Swingle fourth and J.R. McClain fifth.

The 4WD A Main went to Doug Frid. Frid crossed the finish line just 1.2 seconds ahead of Frank Lagomarsino in a very exciting and close finish. Top Qualified Ray Gong would finish third, Cary Wright fourth, followed by Kirk Baker, Billy Martin, and Will Perry. Frid would also take the series championship as he finished the season with 3 wins. Ray Gong finished second in the overall standings followed by Frank Lagomarsino, Kirk Baker, and Cary Wright rounding out the top five.

The Open Stadium truck division had six entries for the night. TQ and the A Main went to Randy Lathrop. Jen Lathrop would finish second almost 9 seconds behind Randy. Mike See finished third, Doug Frid fourth, Casey Nydahl fifth, and Aaron Castro sixth. Doug Frid earned the number one spot on the podium after finishing the year with four victories. Aaron Castro finished second with one win, Casey Nydahl, third, Randy Lathrop fourth and Jen Lathrop rounding out the top five.

Modesto RC would like to thank the sponsors of the RC Nights 2013 series which include:

Avid Rc – http://www.avidrc.com/
Team Associated – http://www.teamassociated.com/
Team Tekin – http://www.teamtekin.com/
Proline – http://prolineracing.com/
AKA – http://www.raceaka.com/
Boca Bearings – http://www.bocabearings.com/
D.E. Racing – http://www.deracing.net/
Team Novak – http://www.teamnovak.com/
Savox – http://www.savoxusa.com/
Modesto Hobby and craft http://www.modestohobby.com/
Hobbico http://www.hobbico.com/

That concludes the 2013 RC Nights Point Series. However, Modesto RC recently announced a new series called the Widow Maker Series which will consist of 6 rounds with two throw outs. The final round will be double points. The top ten finishers in each division will receive a plaque. The first round kicks off on Saturday, September 7th and concludes on Saturday October 12th. Gates will open at 1:00PM with Racing scheduled for 3:30 PM. For more information, complete race results and point standings, pictures, and videos log on to Modesto RC Raceway’s website at http://www.modestorc.com or “like” their Face book page at http://facebook.com/ModestoRC

Details of the Widowmaker series below.

Dates & Times
Gates open 1PM  Racing at 3:30PM
September 7, 14, 21, 28
October 5, 12
Double points for final round.
A six week back to back series, Plaques though 10th place.
2 throw outs.


$15 First entry
$10 Second entry
$5  Third
Free after the third class.

Stock Buggy
Open Buggy
Stock SCT
Open SCT
Open Truck
4wd Buggy
4wd SCT
Kids Class

Weather Permitting.  If we get rained out we will reschedule the race.

Funworks Modesto
4307 Coffee Road
Modesto, CA 95355
(209) 549-7888




Posted by at September 10, 2013
Filed in category: Race Report,

Comments are closed.